Slides from my AES Reverb presentation

I was invited by the Seattle chapter of the Audio Engineering Society to speak about reverbs and reverb design. I threw together some slides:

AES2015ReverbPresentation

Pretty skeletal deck, but it was (hopefully) more entertaining when presented in person. Don Gunn helped me out with a Logic X project that accompanied the presentation. Don also listened to me when I practiced the presentation, and was graceful enough to pretend that he hasn’t heard me ranting on the same topics about 100 times before.

I think I learned more from the people in the audience at the AES presentation than anyone learned from me! It was cool to hear anecdotes from people that had worked at Lexicon and Alesis, as well as folks that had a lot of experience with plate reverbs and echo chambers. Thanks to Christopher Deckard for inviting me to speak, and thanks to everyone that attended the presentation.

9 thoughts on “Slides from my AES Reverb presentation

  1. WOW! That’s so cool, I really wish I could have heard your presentation! Perhaps we can arrange a reprise at an upcoming convention?

    • If there is ever a reprise, I’d love to fill in some of the gaps in the history. There were a few folks at the talk who had worked at Lexicon and Alesis during the early days, that would be able to actually ANSWER some of the historical questions.

Leave a comment